Fruity Friday (MOFO #12) – Tea Poached Pears in Chocolate Sauce

fruityfriday

It’s the end of the third week already, can you believe it? Some chocolate covered pears will cheer you up though right?

Today’s recipe is from Veganomicon and didn’t take any adaptations to make it gluten free. It makes a change to not have to edit a recipe that tastes this good!

040113_1835_marchcookbo1

I’ve never made or tasted a poached pear before but I loved the idea as soon as I saw it on the page. The recipe uses black tea, orange zest and vanilla extract to poach the pears in and then mixes some chocolate with some of the tea mixture to pour over the top. I used Earl Grey teabags for a bit of a lighter flavour and my pears turned out beautifully soft and had a comforting tea flavour. I loved the idea of using the leftover tea to make the chocolate sauce as it gave the sauce a bit of depth.

WP_20140912_005 (1)

I added some crushed almonds to the top of my pears to give a bit of crunch and ladled the chocolate sauce over the top. I managed to eat my way through 2 pears before I could stop!

.

Have you ever poached a pear?

One thought on “Fruity Friday (MOFO #12) – Tea Poached Pears in Chocolate Sauce

  1. Pingback: My Vegan MOFO 2014! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

