Wildcard Wednesday (MOFO #10) – The Northern Vegan Festival

wildcardwednesday

We’re already into the third week of MOFO! I’m sorry I’ve been absent over the weekend but over the weekend I travelled to Blackpool for the Northern Vegan Festival and then Kendal for work! I’m back now though and I want to share my adventures with you for this Wildcard Wednesday.

blackpool_lancashire_iron_301535_hBlackpool Tower by Kevinzim

.

I am originally from Blackpool so it was odd being back there for the Northern Vegan Festival. I made the most of it though and went to visit family the next day so it was a nice weekend in Blackpool for me and my boyfriend!

WP_20140913_003

The festival was held in the beautiful Winter Gardens’ Ballroom and all of the usual suspects were there! We don’t usually go to many workshops but we made the most of the day here and went to two really interesting talks. The first was a talk on nutrition which was done by Elizabeth King. It was really interesting to hear about vegan nutrition from a scientific point of view rather than from rumours and hearsay.
IMG_20140913_160250

 

The second talk was by the wonderful Melissa Morgan from Ms Cupcake. I came away with a signed copy of her book and lots of inspiration for how to make my gluten free and vegan bakes!

WP_20140913_004

 

Good news for all sweets fans came from the Goody Good Stuff stall where they were giving out samples of their brand new vegan gummy bears! I came home with one of the huge tubs of Sugar Plums and will be letting you know more about the new developments next week.

WP_20140913_009

 

Of course the most exciting part of the day was lunch! I followed my nose into the Cafe Room where there were all sorts of vegan delights. I was immediately drawn to the Gluten Free macaroni cheese with a crunchy nacho topping and had to stop myself from going back for seconds!

.

All in all it was a fantastic day and I came home with lots of goodies!

.

Were you at the festival? What was your favourite part?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wildcard Wednesday (MOFO #10) – The Northern Vegan Festival

  1. Pingback: My Vegan MOFO 2014! | Vegan Beckles

  2. Pingback: An Apology and Some Christmas Cupcakes | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

