Throwback Thursday (MOFO #8) – “Fronch” Toast

throwbackthursday

We’re almost halfway through Vegan MOFO and it’s going too fast! Today I’m carrying on with my theme of making recipes from my pre-vegan days suitable for my gluten free and vegan diet.

Today is Throwback Thursday and I want to talk to you about french toast (aka eggy bread!). Before I was vegan my birthday breakfast was always eggy bread with a dollop of ketchup to dunk it in. For those of you not familiar with it, eggy bread is slightly stale bread which is soaked in an eggy mixture and then fried. It’s deliciously naughty!

WP_20140911_001

Today’s recipe comes from Vegan With A Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. This was one of my very first books when I turned vegan but since I went gluten free and started avoiding soya I’ve not used it much at all. The Fronch Toast recipe is very easy to make gluten and soy free though and makes an absolutely perfect Sunday breakfast.

WP_20140907_001

Isa recommends a baguette shaped loaf for this recipe but I used a DS Ciabatta which I cut in half. It soaked up the mixture delightfully because of the air pockets inside. Instead of soy cream I used the new Alpro rice cream which was surprisingly thick and creamy! I also replaced the soy milk with some unsweetened almond milk.

The eggs in this recipe are replaced by cornflour and chickpea flour which is a combination I would never have thought of. They worked perfectly though and created a gorgeous crispy coating. This is definitely going to be a regular in my kitchen!

.

Which breakfast treats do you miss from your childhood?

7 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday (MOFO #8) – “Fronch” Toast

  1. I loved french toast as a kid too! My grandma always made it for breakfast on sunday morning, I loved it with a bit of brown sugar.
    I haven’t made the recipe from VwaV yet, so I might have to try that one. I did try a lot of other vegan recipes for French toast (most of the time I like the ones with cinnamon).

  2. I am a total french toast fan, and I love the Fronch Toast recipe so much! It’s my basic favorite, though I’ve simplified and just use almond milk, instead of the creamer and rice milk combo she suggests. Either way, it still comes out great!

  3. Pingback: My Vegan MOFO 2014! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

