Stress Free Saturday (MOFO #6) – Peas, Leeks and Spinach

stressfreesaturday

Welcome to Stress Free Saturday! My MOFO theme is adapting your pre-vegan cookbooks to match a gluten free and vegan diet. I don’t know about you but the last thing I want to do at the end of a week is spend lots of time in the kitchen trying to figure out how to veganise a recipe. This is why on Saturdays we will be doing Stress Free Saturday – recipes from non-vegan cookbooks that just happen to be vegan and gluten free!

WP_20140906_001

Most chefs love vegetables  and there are a million and one different ways to prepare them. Jamie Oliver really likes to make his veggies shine and I found a beautiful side dish in one of his early cookbooks, The Return of the Naked Chef.

WP_20140906_002

In this recipe Jamie cooks sweet peas with spinach, white wine and spring onions to make a fresh and tasty side dish. Whilst the recipe is completely vegan I did make a few changes. In mine I used leeks instead of spring onions as they were what I had on hand. I cooked the vegetables in some vegetable stock instead of wine and added a bit of dairy free margarine at the end.

WP_20140905_003

It’s nice to do something different with vegetables and this was a beautiful way of serving peas and spinach! These kind of recipes can be found in most cookbooks so it’s worth flicking through any old books you’ve had to see if there are any hidden gems.

Make sure you come back tomorrow where I will be rounding up my favourite recipes from the first week of MOFO!

One thought on “Stress Free Saturday (MOFO #6) – Peas, Leeks and Spinach

  1. Pingback: My Vegan MOFO 2014! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

