Fruity Friday (MOFO #5) – What to do when it all goes wrong…

fruityfriday

Welcome to day 5 of Vegan MOFO! I’m continuing with my theme of making recipes from pre-vegan cookbooks both vegan and gluten free!

WP_20140905_007

Sometimes when you’re adapting a recipe it can go wrong. Horribly wrong. I am a big fan of blueberries so when I saw the blueberry tart in Linda’s Kitchen I knew it would be one of the recipes I’d be trying. I made my own gluten free pastry and cooked up the blueberries following the exact recipe. The tart that emerged was one of the most beautiful foods I’ve ever seen. The blueberries were a glistening purple colour and a gorgeous vanilla scent was wafting off them. I cut a slice and took it off to bed to enjoy!

WP_20140824_003

I was back downstairs a few minutes later grabbing a packet of crisps. This tart was not good. The berries were gorgeous but the pastry recipe I’d used turned out dry, floury and generally disgusting. I didn’t want to lose the blueberries so I scooped them out and froze them ready for a day when I could try again.

WP_20140828_013

Salvation finally came at the weekend in the form of a blueberry and peach pie. I used a recipe from Simply Gluten Free which worked like a charm and produced a perfect, crunchy pie crust. After filling my tart case with blueberries I realised that not all of them had survived the bad tart experience and there was very little fruit compared to pastry. A dig in the fridge revealed a punnet of peaches which needed using and the pie was born!

.

And the motto is… if it all goes wrong just keep trying!

.

What do you do when your recipe fails?

3 thoughts on “Fruity Friday (MOFO #5) – What to do when it all goes wrong…

  1. Pingback: My Vegan MOFO 2014! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

