Apple Pie Smoothie (Vegan/GF)

IMG_0509

Last week something marvellous happened. We got a break from the horrible hot weather and had a couple of days that were reminiscent of autumn! I will admit that I’m probably the only person in the country to be happy when I opened my curtains and found it was raining and a bit chilly. What can I say? As much as I love wearing floaty skirts and eating picnics in the sun, Autumn is my natural time of the year. The rain immediately had me craving cinnamon and I headed into the kitchen to see what I could rustle up.

I named this the apple pie smoothie because it contained the spices that I love sprinkling over apples before cooking them. I added some frozen bananas, a sweet red apple and a splash of coconut milk and had a gorgeous mid morning smoothie!

.

Apple Pie Smoothie

Ingredients:

2 frozen bananas

1 red apple

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

a splash of coconut milk (the carton kind – I use Koko brand)

.

Method:

Put all the ingredients in your blender and blend until smooth!

Feel free to change the amounts of the above ingredients depending on how you like your smoothies. The more banana and less milk you use, the thicker your drink will be. You can also adapt the spices to your own taste buds.

.

Do you miss your autumn treats in the summer?

Leave a Reply

