Superfudgy Coconut Cookie Bars

IMG_0855

When I first went vegan I received The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions for Christmas. It’s a very useful book with substitution ideas and recipes for all sorts of dietary requirements including Cheese, Egg, Gluten and Sugar. Back then I was only interested in eating vegan but since I gave up gluten I’ve been exploring this book again.

{197EACB5-7760-4D15-91F9-6A614DAED13E}Img100

This week I decided to try one of the cookie recipes and due to the over-abundance of coconut I seemed to have in my kitchen, I decided to go with these Superfudgy Coconut Cookie Bars. I won’t lie, the name persuaded me to check this recipe out!

IMG_0856

These cookie bars taste deliciously naughty but are full of nutritional ingredients! The bars contain coconut, pecans, flaxseed meal, orange juice and chocolate chips. The texture is rather like a coconut brownie bar, rich and satisfying. The recipe seemed overly complicated with the ingredients needing to be cooked on the hob before going into the oven but it was simpler than it looked and it was definitely worth the work!

Get your copy of The Complete Guide to Vegan Substitutions here.

.

What are your go to brownie recipes?

One thought on “Superfudgy Coconut Cookie Bars

Leave a Reply

