Vegan Mofo #27 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Yummy Zero Zebra Bars)

400x84_r2

SONY DSC

OK guys, I’m aware that I am cheating twice here!

1) The last day of Vegan MoFo was yesterday

2) I’m doing Y and Z together

I’m sorry for missing the last day of MoFo! Hopefully this chocolate review will make up for it!

.

Zero Zebra are a small brand that make dairy and allergen free chocolate aimed at children. Their products are all free of allergens, fair trade, vegan and organic and so are perfect for vegan or lactose intolerant kids. I bought one of each of their three chocolate bars to give a try.

SONY DSC

Their original bar is a gorgeous rice based milk chocolate. Many vegan milk chocolates can be too bitter or grainy but this is soft, creamy and delicious.

SONY DSC

I expected the Crispy Rice Pop bar to be reminiscent of the Nestle Crunch Bars that I used to adore before I was vegan (and before I gave up eating Nestle!). It is not like these bars at all but don’t let that put you off! The rice pops are scattered through this bar but there aren’t so many that the quality of the chocolate is hidden. It’s a creamy bar with small crunchy bits.

SONY DSC

This is the bar I was most excited to try. My favourite flavour in everything used to be strawberry so a vegan milk chocolate with strawberry is right up my street. This bar wasn’t what I was expecting at all but it was delicious nonetheless. It actually contains dried bits of strawberry so the fake sugary strawberry flavour I was expecting was replaced by a more realistic sweet strawberry flavour. This is sure to be a favourite amongst kids!

.

Overall I think these bars are fantastic. They are a lot bigger than most vegan milk chocolate treats at 35g and I didn’t feel like eating another bar once I’d finished! I think the cute packaging and the shape of the bars will stop children from becoming jealous of the kids with the milky bars and parents can be sure that they are allergen free!

.

What are your favourite vegan chocolates?

3 thoughts on “Vegan Mofo #27 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Yummy Zero Zebra Bars)

  1. Moo-free, Bonvita Rice Milk Chocolates and (Londons) Ms Cupcake Ambassador Cupcake: Ferrero Rocher. Although the cupcake is not technically a chocolate, but there´s so much chocolate in it, and it´s just heavenly 🙂

  2. Pingback: Vegan MoFo Round Up! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

