Vegan MoFo #24 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (The Vegg)

400x84_r2

logo

The last thing I gave up before I went vegan was eggs. I used to love them fried, boiled, scrambled or poached and didn’t imagine what I’d eat for breakfast without them. When I went vegan I tried scrambled tofu and my first impression was not a good one as I didn’t flavour it anywhere near as much. While I got better at making scrambled tofu (for some tips on this check out my scrambled tofu post), it never truly tasted like egg.

IMG_0665

Recently I’ve read a lot about the first plant based egg yolk replacement. There were rave reviews all over the internet about this amazing stuff. The price always put me off (£5.99 seemed a lot!) and I was worried that it would contain all sorts of processed ingredients. When I actually looked at the ingredients though I found that it contained nutritional yeast, sodium alginate, black salt and beta carotene. I decided to get a packet to review for Vegan MoFo!

IMG_0666

The Vegg looks mostly like nutritional yeast and doesn’t have a very eggy smell when you first open it. Don’t let this put you off as when I followed the instructions and blended it up with some water, the aroma of eggs was definitely coming out of my food processor! The texture after blending is exactly like egg yolk which is quite incredible.

There is a whole cookbook devoted to recipes using the Vegg. Some of the few that caught my eye were french toast, scrambled Vegg and bread/cake recipes. However after some googling I found that many of the Vegg recipes contain tofu or other forms of soya. I actively avoid soya in my diet so these were no good to me!

IMG_0669

Eventually I found a vegan, gluten free and soy free recipe for a Vegg based omelette which I made with mushrooms and leeks. It was delicious and remarkably eggy! The recipe can be found over on A Vegan Obsession.

I am officially a Vegg convert now! I’ve also tried it made up with warm water and drizzled over cooked mushrooms and tomatoes for breakfast and it’s a winner this way too. Next for me is a dish of warm Vegg and a plate of chips to recreate the fried egg and chips meal I loved as a child.

.

Have you got any Vegg recipes to share?

.

Don’t forget to enter my competition to win some Frank Chocolate Snack Bars!

franks-bars-04-13

One thought on “Vegan MoFo #24 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (The Vegg)

  1. Pingback: Vegan MoFo Round Up! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

