Vegan MoFo #16 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Nakd Bars)

400x84_r2

IMG_0657

It’s day 16 of Vegan MoFo and we’re up to the letter N in our A-Z of gluten free veganism! Today I want to tell you about my favourite snack bars – Nakd Bars.

These bars were created by Natural Balance Foods and are available in most supermarkets as well as health food shops and online. They are made with 100% natural ingredients and are just dried fruit and nuts squished together. You would never imagine that these beautiful flavours had nothing artificial in! I bought one of each bar (apart from the Caffe Mocha because I can’t stand coffee) so I could give you a quick overview of the range.

147

This delicious little bar is made up of two ingredients: dates and cashews. I loved this more than I thought I would as I imagined it might be quite boring tasting. It definitely wasn’t! The simplicity of this bar is probably one of it’s best qualities. It is nice and soft and beautifully sweet without any horrible syrups or sugars.

152

Pecan Pie is made up of pecans, dates and almonds and is one of my favourites as I love pecans. This tastes remarkably like a pecan pie and is filling too!

151

This ginger bread bar is mouthwatering. It contains dates, almonds, pecans, cloves, ginger and cinnamon and is wonderfully spicy! This is definitely a must try.

146

I’d say the berry delight bar tastes the most like a health food bar but this doesn’t put me off. It’s made of dates, cashews, raisins, raspberries and natural flavours and the berry flavour really comes through. It’s a nice fruity snack.

340

I don’t know how they did it but this bar is made up of dates, cashews, raisins and natural flavourings and tastes exactly like the rhubarb and custard sweets I used to love as a child! I found this bar a lot softer than the others too. It’s definitely my favourite of the bunch!

150

The cocoa orange bar is my second favourite. Chocolate and orange are one of my favourite flavour combinations and this is a guilt free version! It is made up of dates, cashews, raisins, cocoa and natural flavouring but tastes like a treat.

 149

The cocoa mint bar tastes like it should be naughtier than it is. It is made up of dates, cashews, raisins, cocoa and natural mint flavouring and yet it tastes like a mint aero! The texture is almost truffle like so the bar feels truly decadent.

148

I think the cocoa delight bar tastes like a slightly fruity truffle! It’s gloriously decadent and made up of dates, cashews, raisins, cocoa and natural flavourings. I’ve heard that if you stick this bar in the microwave for a little bit it tastes like a warm chocolate brownie!

415

The crunch bars are new to the Nakd family. This apple crunch bar is made of dates, soya crunchies, cashews, raisins, dried apple, apple juice concentrate and bramley apple flavouring. It has a lovely refreshing apple flavour and the crunchies add a nice texture to the bar.

421

Strawberry is usually my favourite flavour in anything. This strawberry crunch bar is really nice but not quite strawberry enough for me! It contains dates, soya crunchies, cashews, raisins, strawberries, apple juice concentrate and natural flavouring.

417

Bananas are my favourite fruit so I was excited to try this. I think the banana flavouring comes across quite strongly here but that’s what I like about it! It tastes like the banana medicine I used to love as a child. The banana crunch bar contains dates, soya crunchies, cashews, raisins, dried banana, apple juice concentrate and banana flavouring.

419

I used to love chocolate bars with rice crispies in and this cocoa crunch bar reminds me of eating them! This bar contains dates, soya crunchies, cashews, raisins, cocoa, apple juice concentrate and chocolate flavouring.

.

I love every single one of these flavours and always have a couple in my bag for snacks. I’ve never known such a healthy bar to be available in so many amazing varieties!

.

Have you tried Nakd bars? What are your favourites?

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #16 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Nakd Bars)

  1. Pingback: Vegan MoFo Round Up! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

