Vegan Mofo #3 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Aubergine)

400x84_r2

aubergine_white_food_241748_l

Welcome to day 3 of Vegan MoFo! Today I going to be talking about a vegetable that I have recently learned to love – aubergine.

Aubergine (or eggplant) are low in calories but high in antioxidants and B vitamins as well as being a good source of many key minerals including manganese, copper, iron and potassium. They are therefore a good choice for anyone looking to lower their blood pressure and keep their kidneys and heart working effectively.

In the past aubergines have been considered a bitter vegetable and it has become common practice to sprinkle salt on slices before cooking. Nowadays, however, this is not as much of a problem as it used to be. Modern aubergines are not as bitter as their older counterparts and the idea of salting them has become less popular.

imag11911

Aubergine, Potato and Pepper Stew

Up until last year I was never a fan of aubergine, finding it too mushy and oily. As with most vegetables though, it comes down to how it is prepared and cooked. I have since learned that aubergine soaked up oil like a sponge so it is easy to make aubergine dishes less greasy by adding less oil to the pan. My first success story with aubergine was a recipe from The Meat Free Monday Cookbook for Aubergine, Potato and Pepper Stew which can be found here. I loved the flavours of the stew which meant the texture of the aubergine was not as big an issue as it had previously been. I’m now used to the softer texture of this beautiful vegetable and have since used aubergines in my Baked Tomato Aubergines and Mushrooms and my Roasted Aubergines and Mushrooms.

Today I want to share a recipe for Smoky Aubergine and Courgette Stew. This is a light and summery stew with a deep smoked paprika flavour. It works really well with some cous cous or rice and is very simple to prepare.

IMG_0658

Smoky Aubergine and Courgette Stew

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, diced

1 portobello mushroom

1 leek

1 aubergine

1 courgette

1 red pepper

10 plum tomatoes

tin of chopped tomatoes

1 cup of vegetable stock

1 tsp chopped garlic

1 tsp smoked paprika

.

Method

1) Heat the oil in a large pan and gently fry the onion, garlic and leek

2) Add the mushrooms, aubergine, courgette, red pepper and plum tomatoes and fry until the aubergine has softened slightly

3) Add the tinned tomatoes, stock and smoked paprika

4) Cover and simmer gently for 25 minutes

5) Serve with cous cous or rice

Are you an aubergine fan? Are there any vegetables that you’ve taught yourself to like using different cooking methods?

12 thoughts on “Vegan Mofo #3 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Aubergine)

  1. Me too! I found aubergines kind of gooey and nasty until I started using them more and I found it was all in the preparation. I like to slice thickly, then brush with oil and grill to start with – great layered in moussaka. Now okra I’ve still yet to learn to love!

  2. I *love* aubergine. I also think your name for it is sooo much better than eggplant. I may have to start calling it that for the fun of it. Yes, I’ve learned to like mushrooms and beans by starting out with different methods of cooking them.

  3. I love aubergine, my favourite ways to eat it are either as Aubergine Dengaku or in the Eggplant Potato Moussaka with Pine Nut Cream from Veganomicon which is one of my go-to dishes when I’m cooking for non-vegans.

  4. Pingback: Vegan MoFo Round Up! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

