My Food Week – Birthday Edition! (20th – 26th May)

Last week I had my 23rd birthday and, as always, celebrated by making gluten free and vegan versions of some of my favourite foods!

IMAG1281

These banana pancakes were my Birthday breakfast! I used the recipe from Gluten Free Soy Free Vegan and topped them with sliced banana, lemon juice and sugar. I really should eat pancakes more often!

IMAG1283

One of the presents I received last week was the Flying Apron’s Gluten-Free & Vegan Baking Book. So far I’ve not had a lot of success in making vegan and gluten free bread so this was a very exciting gift! I’d already decided I wanted to try making some kind of pizza for my tea on my birthday and I was extremely excited to find a sweet potato based recipe for pizza dough in here. I topped my pizza with chopped tomatoes, mushrooms, sweetcorn and onions.

IMAG1285

The left over dough from my pizza bases I moulded into a small bloomer shaped loaf. It turned out perfectly and I just had to have beans on toast the next morning for breakfast!

IMAG1288

I tried buckwheat soba noodles again this week and it mystifies me why I keep buying them. They always clump together and are edible but not great. Here’s a quick stir fry I made using carrots, peppers, runner beans, mushrooms, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds.

What have you been eating this week? Do you celebrate your birthday with special foods?

Leave a Reply

