Meatless Mondays (Chocolate) and What I Ate This Week (13th-19th May)

I’ve not been well these past few days and have been in bed with some kind of cold/flu type thing. Today I’m feeling a lot better but am behind on my blogging so I’m having to combine a couple of posts! I’ll be back to normal soon!

BWV-Round2-May-Chocolate_thumb1

I’ve loved the Dark Chocolate Meatless Mondays A-Z challenge! It’s one of my favourite ingredients (obviously) so I had a hard time choosing which recipe to follow. Unfortunately all of the recipes on the MMAZ page were made with ingredients I didn’t have or were full of gluten. I found a lot of chocolate containing recipes on my Healthy Indulgence Pinterest board and after much deliberation decided on the Vegan Chocolate Banana Bread from Gluten Free Gus.

IMAG1277

I followed the recipe exactly apart from replacing the sorghum flour with brown rice flour. I also used peppermint extract in the glaze rather than vanilla with gave a lovely “After Eight” type cake!

IMAG1278

Other recipes I want to try from this week:

You can see my recipe for Chocolate Orange Banana Bites here.

What Else I Ate This Week

IMAG1248

This is my “get well” vegetable soup! I made a large batch of this last time I was ill and found a tub of it in the freezer. It had new potatoes, green beans, mushrooms, cauliflower, peas, cabbage and tinned tomatoes in it and was lovely with a dash of vegan Worcester sauce.

IMAG1257

This was inspired by the meal I had when I stayed at a hotel in Derby a couple of weeks back. I stir fried some basmati rice, purple sprouting broccoli, peppers, celery and cashews. I used coconut oil in this stir fry and it was surprisingly good! Much better than any other kind I’ve tried (except maybe toasted sesame).

IMAG1265

A mixed berry chia pudding made with vanilla Rice Dream milk. When I first gave up dairy I hated the taste of soya milk so for a while I used rice milk in my cereal. I have memories of watery horrible cereal and have stayed away from rice milk ever since. However I found this vanilla flavoured milk on offer and decided to give it a go. It was quite nice! This chia pudding also contains strawberries, raspberries and blackberries.

IMAG1269

When I made my Red Lentil Lasagne with Dijon Sauce I had a lot of the lentil mixture left over which I stuck in my freezer. I defrosted it this week and it made a lovely comforting meal mixed into rice pasta with a side salad.

IMAG1272

A warming curry made with red thai curry paste, coconut milk, sweet potato, carrots and green beans. I love coconut based curries and I think thai curries are my favourite.

IMAG1273

This is a Sweet Potato Gratin which is part of this month’s cookbook challenge. More about this later in the week!

IMAG1275

This Thai Curried Parsnip Soup is also part of this month’s cookbook challenge. More later this week!

What have you been eating this week? Were you inspired by this week’s MMAZ challenge?

One thought on “Meatless Mondays (Chocolate) and What I Ate This Week (13th-19th May)

Leave a Reply

