Meatless Mondays From A-Z – Chocolate Orange Banana Bites

BWV-Round2-May-Chocolate_thumb1I actually squealed when I found out what this week’s Meatless Mondays ingredient was. This is not an exaggeration… I squealed.

The challenge for this week was to create a recipe using dark chocolate. I was very excited to come up with a recipe but it was not as easy as I originally thought. The problem I had is that I’m not very experienced at gluten free and vegan baking. I still can’t bake something without following specific instructions or I end up with a soggy mess.

The first recipe I came up with was a granola made with nuts, dried berries and dark chocolate. It was quite nice but not quite right. Back to the drawing board then!

This afternoon I was looking up recipes to include in my birthday buffet and saw some banana pieces covered in peanut butter and frozen. They sounded good and I still haven’t gotten round to trying banana soft serve so I decided to use frozen bananas for my recipe. I also had some marmalade left over from my vegan food swap and the chocolate orange ideas were forming in my head! Luckily I already had some pieces of banana in the freezer so this recipe came together very quickly.

IMAG1258

Ingredients

Frozen banana pieces

Bar of dark chocolate

Spoonful of marmalade

Method

1) Take your banana pieces out of the freezer and leave them on the side while you melt your chocolate

2) Add some marmalade to your melted chocolate and stir well

3) Roll the bananas in the chocolate orange mixture and put back into the freezer on a tray (so they don’t stick together) until hard

.

A simple recipe but a definite winner! Nobody told me that frozen bananas have the exact same texture as a fresh mini milk. I lived on those ice creams when I was little!

What’s your favourite thing to do with dark chocolate?

One thought on “Meatless Mondays From A-Z – Chocolate Orange Banana Bites

  1. Pingback: Meatless Mondays (Chocolate) and What I Ate This Week (13th-19th May) | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

