April Cookbook Challenge – The Meat Free Monday Cookbook (Update 4)

040313_1855_aprilcookbo1

This is the final update in my April Cookbook Challenge! This is a round up of all the recipes I’ve made from The Meat Free Monday Cookbook in the second half of April. I’ve been using this cookbook a lot this month so this will be a long post!

040313_1855_AprilCookbo2.jpg

 

IMAG1154This Waldorf Salad is the first salad I’ve eaten with fruit in it. I was always very much against fruit in salads but this definitely changed my mind! This recipe is in the Spring section of The Meat Free Mondays Cookbook and is called a packed lunch. The recipe is very simple, consisting of apple, celery, walnuts, red onion, oil and vinegar. The great thing about this recipe is that it makes just enough to serve one person. I always have lots of leftovers when I use cookbooks so this was great. I served it with salad leaves and roasted new potatoes and it has to be one of the best salads I’ve had recently! The different flavours and textures made it a total winner. I’ve already had this one again.

IMAG1158I love pasta and I adore sun-dried tomatoes so as soon as I received some olives in my Graze box I had to try the Pasta with Broccoli, Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Olives from the Autumn section of the book. This is another lunch recipe but I enjoyed this for tea. The recipe actually includes a type of pasta called Orecchiette which are tiny little scoop shaped pieces. I would have gladly tried to find some of these but since I had to make the recipe gluten free I used my normal corn pasta. I also replaced the pine nuts with sunflower seeds as that’s what I had in my cupboard and I used green olives rather than black. I wasn’t sure what this was going to be like as there is no sauce and I thought the pasta might be a bit tasteless. It was the opposite! I’m definitely going to be making this dish again, it’s one of the tastiest pasta dishes I’ve ever tried.

IMAG1176Two recipes in one here! This is the Roasted Herby Mushrooms with Colcannon. These are both listed as side dishes but were substantial enough together with some baked beans to make a lovely comforting meal. I used portobello mushrooms rather than chestnut mushrooms as that’s what I had in my fridge. These had a lovely earthy flavour and an almost meaty texture once cooked. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out beautifully. For the colcannon I only made one alteration. I used half the amount of cabbage recommended because it seemed like much too much. I’m glad I did because it seemed to be the perfect amount. Again I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out really well.

IMAG1212I love the colours in this photo! This is the Ratatouille which is a packed lunch recipe from the summer section of the book. I’m not sure about this dish as a packed lunch. I don’t know what it would be like cold! I followed the instructions for this exactly apart from using cherry tomatoes instead of normal ones. The recipe is extremely simple and easy to follow. I served my ratatouille with spaghetti because I didn’t feel it would be filling enough on its own. I think I was right about this as it was the perfect meal.

IMAG1191A definite aubergine theme going on here! This is the Aubergine, Pepper and Potato Stew which is in the Autumn section. This dish is the first one I ever made from this book and is one of the meals that first made me love aubergine so I was keen to try it again. I followed the recipe exactly but left out the feta. The only thing I will say about this recipe is that the photo in the book is not very accurate at all! The stew has a lot more liquid in it which is actually a good thing.

IMAG1181Lastly a soup that reminded me of my student days! This Leek and Potato Soup is a packed lunch in the Autumn section of the book. The only change I made to this recipe was using almond milk rather than semi-skimmed to make it vegan. An easy recipe to follow and a lovely creamy soup.

That’s the end of my Meat Free Monday recipe roundup! The full review will be posted next week. Does anything here take your fancy?

Past April Cookbook Challenge posts:

  • Update 1 (Meat Free Monday) – Caribbean Rice & Beans, Parsnip Soup, Quinoa & Roasted Tomato Salad
  • Update 2 (4 Ingredients Gluten Free) – Damper, Tomato Soup, Pumpkin Soup, Sweet Potato Fries, Sauteed Cherry Tomatoes, Toffee Bananas
  • Update 3 (Meat Free Monday) – Orange & Mustard Salad Dressing, Broccoli & Lemon Risotto, Rice Pilaf, Pineapple Cake

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “April Cookbook Challenge – The Meat Free Monday Cookbook (Update 4)

  1. Pingback: Baked Tomato Aubergines and Mushrooms (Meatless Monday) | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

