April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free (Update 3)

040313_1855_aprilcookbo1

This is the second to last update for my April Cookbook Challenge. In this post I will focus on the recipes I’ve cooked for the second half of this month from 4 Ingredients Gluten Free. The full review for this book will be posted a week today so look out for that!

040313_1855_AprilCookbo3.jpg

 

IMAG1172The first recipe I want to talk about is the Orange & Mustard Dressing from the Salad Dressings chapter of the book. Unfortunately I forgot to take a photo of the dressing before I put it on the salad! The dressing was made up of orange juice (which I squeezed fresh), wholegrain mustard and walnut oil. I was drawn to this recipe because it seemed different from the usual dressings of balsamic vinegar and/or lemon juice! It’s a simple recipe which just involves whisking the ingredients and it was lovely and fresh on my pasta salad. The flavours complemented each other perfectly.

IMAG1098One of my favourite foods is risotto so I was excited to give the Broccoli & Lemon Risotto a try! This was an odd recipe as it tells you to add all of the water to the rice at the beginning and stir rather than adding a bit at a time like I’m used to. I followed it to the letter though and found that the risotto needed a lot more water than recommended. The lemon flavour was much too intense in this dish so I wasn’t impressed with the flavour either. Not very good overall but edible!

IMAG1139

The picture above shows my favourite comfort food! Scrambled tofu which I served with the Rice Pilaf from the mains section of the book. Firstly I’d like to say that rice pilaf is not a main course. The ingredients for this dish were onion, garlic, rice and stock which is no way near substantial enough for a main meal but it makes a perfect side dish. The recipe was easy to follow and the rice tasted really nice. I’ll probably make this one again!

The last recipe I tried was the Pineapple Cake from the Morning & Afternoon Teas section. I’ll be honest that I had no faith that this recipe would work. The ingredients were gluten free flour, sugar and tinned pineapple. I imagined a gloopy uncooked mess. Needless to say, this recipe was amazing. So amazing that I forgot to take a photo before I ate the cake! I’m now wondering whether it would work with other types of tinned fruit and I’m definitely going to give it a go.

So that’s the last recipe round up from this book! Next week I will round up the recipes from Meat Free Mondays and review both books. Does anything here take your fancy?

Past April Cookbook Challenge posts:

  • Update 1 (Meat Free Mondays) – Caribbean Rice & Beans, Parsnip Soup, Quinoa & Roasted Tomato Salad
  • Update 2 (4 Ingredients Gluten Free) – Damper, Tomato Soup, Pumpkin Soup, Sweet Potato Fries, Sauteed Cherry Tomatoes, Toffee Bananas

 

 

2 thoughts on “April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free (Update 3)

  1. Pingback: April Cookbook Challenge – The Meat Free Monday Cookbook (Update 4) | Vegan Beckles

  2. Pingback: April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free Review | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

