April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free (Update 2)

040313_1855_aprilcookbo1

This is the second update for my April Cookbook Challenge where I am reviewing The Meat Free Monday Cookbook and 4 Ingredients Gluten Free. The first update for this challenge can be found here where I discuss recipes from The Meat Free Monday Cookbook (including Parsnip Soup and Quinoa & Roasted Tomato Salad!).

In this update though I will be talking about the recipes I’ve tried so far from 4 Ingredients Gluten Free.

040313_1855_AprilCookbo3.jpg

I’ve made a few recipes from this book but no full meals so far. It’s good for lunches and sides though!

IMAG1081The first recipe I tried was from the Breakfasts chapter of the book. First I googled to find out exactly what Damper was as the book doesn’t give much description other than the ingredients and method. The four ingredients that make this beautiful sweet bread are Gluten Free flour, baking powder, milk and syrup. I made this for breakfast one morning and followed the instructions to the letter (apart from subbing almond milk for dairy milk). However the mixture was much too watery and I ended up adding some more flour. It also took an hour to cook all the way through rather than the 30 minutes mentioned in the book. The result was a rather dry loaf of bread (so maybe I was wrong in adding more flour). It was nice though, warmed up and smothered with chocolate orange spread.

IMAG1082

.

IMAG1128Ok I don’t want to be overenthusiastic but this is the most simple and delicious recipe I’ve tried! It is the Tomato & Basil Soup from the Light Meals & Lunches section. The recipe was really easy to follow and used everyday ingredients. I can’t believe such a tasty soup was made with tinned tomatoes! I actually got through 2 bowls of this for lunch the other day.

IMAG1147Another soup recipe! This is Pumpkin, Lentil & Ginger Soup. I actually used a butternut squash for this and had to make up the weight with carrots (my squash was nowhere near 1kg!). The instructions were easy enough to follow but I had to add quite a bit of extra water to thin it out. The soup itself was gorgeous.

IMAG1091There are two different recipes on the mix-match plate above. At the bottom of the photo are the Sweet Potato Fries from the kids section of the book (good for adults too!). I have been trying not to adapt recipes too much but I honestly could not bring myself to use cinnamon sugar on these. I always prefer herbs on my sweet potato so here I used rosemary. A simple recipe and delicious side dish. In the top right hand corner are the Sauteed Cherry Tomatoes. Another simple recipe and a delicious alternative to raw cherry tomatoes!

IMAG1092Last but not least are these Toffee Bananas. I’m not sure I’ve ever enjoyed a banana as much as I did here! It was pretty much banoffee pie in a bowl. I topped mine with some slivered almonds and a splash of almond milk. These are from the breakfast section of the book but to me they are much more of a dessert.

That’s it for the second update of the challenge! Do you own this book? Do any of the recipes inspire you to pick up a copy? Do those toffee bananas make you want to lick the screen?

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free (Update 2)

  1. Pingback: April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free (Update 3) | Vegan Beckles

  2. Pingback: April Cookbook Challenge – The Meat Free Monday Cookbook (Update 4) | Vegan Beckles

  3. Pingback: April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free Review | Vegan Beckles

  4. Pingback: Vegan MoFo #22 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Tomatoes) | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

