April Cookbook Challenge – Meat Free Monday Cookbook Update 1

040313_1855_aprilcookbo1

This is the first update from my April Cookbook Challenge where I am reviewing The Meat Free Monday Cookbook and 4 Ingredients Gluten Free.

This first update is for The Meat Free Monday Cookbook by the McCartneys.

040313_1855_AprilCookbo2.jpg

So far I’ve not been very successful in finding many recipes in this book that I can make using ingredients I’ve already got in my kitchen. So far I’ve tried a few recipes though.

040713_1942_MyFoodWeek19.jpg

The first recipe I tried was when I was very short on food in the kitchen. It’s the Caribbean Rice and Beans from the Autumn section and comes under the Packed Lunch category. It’s a relatively simple recipe made with just rice, red kidney beans and coconut milk. It was lovely if a bit bland. I don’t think I’d take this as a packed lunch on it’s own as it would be very boring!

040713_1942_myfoodweek151

Another recipe from the Autumn section and a packed lunch. This is Parsnip Soup which is a soup that I wouldn’t usually need a recipe for! This one used carrots as well which isn’t something I’d have necessarily put into a plain parsnip soup. It was lovely though and I’ll be making it again!

040713_1942_MyFoodWeek14.jpg

A recipe from the Spring section this time! Again this is a lunch recipe (but not a packed lunch one). The Quinoa and Roasted Tomato Salad was a lunch that took a bit longer to prepare due to the roasting but it was lovely. I think next time I’d use stock to cook the quinoa in rather than using balsamic vinegar to add flavour. That’s just personal preference though!

That’s it for this week’s update. So far so good but I haven’t found as many recipes I can make as I did with Veganomicon!

Have you got Meat Free Mondays? Do any of these recipes help persuade you to give it a go?

4 thoughts on “April Cookbook Challenge – Meat Free Monday Cookbook Update 1

  1. Pingback: April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free (Update 2) | Vegan Beckles

  2. Pingback: April Cookbook Challenge – 4 Ingredients Gluten Free (Update 3) | Vegan Beckles

  3. Pingback: April Cookbook Challenge – The Meat Free Monday Cookbook (Update 4) | Vegan Beckles

  4. Pingback: Vegan MoFo #19 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Quinoa) | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

