Meatless Mondays from A-Z: Round 2 (Avocado)

BWV-Round2-April_thumb

Meatless Mondays from A-Z is a challenge hosted by Better With Veggies where you are encouraged to try new ingredients! Each ingredient lasts for two weeks. The first week is where you create a recipe using the ingredient. The second week you cook a recipe created by somebody else (preferably one that was posted in the first week). It sounded like such an exciting concept so I’ve decided to join in! I’m not too confident at making my own recipes yet but I’m going to do my best. I’ll take part in the second week of each ingredient though!

The first ingredient is one that I’ve not had too much experience with but I am trying to include it more in my diet for the healthy fats. I’ve lost a lot of weight recently as my diet is not high in calories or fat. Avocados are full of monounsaturates which are much healthier than saturated fat and actually help to lower cholesterol! I was never a fan of avocado in the past but recently I’ve been eating it more. I’ve not really been any more adventurous  than dicing it and adding it so salads though so I was very excited to give this recipe a go (I missed the first week of the challenge – where you create your own recipe).

I chose the Pestoed Mushroom Stuffed Baked Avocados from Chickadee Says because the idea of a baked avocado intrigued me and I was dying to try it!

IMAG1116I followed the recipe to the letter apart from the pesto. I created a cheeseless pesto of spinach, basil and pumpkin seeds which was very yummy.

I loved what baking did to the texture of the avocados. They were a lot firmer but still lovely and creamy. For once I actually finished a whole avocado! I’ll definitely be making this again. I wonder if I can come up with some new things to stuff them with?

I served these with a quick salad made with Harissa Olives, lettuce and tomato which was a perfect partner.

Not content with just cooking one recipe though I’ve bookmarked the Avocado Awakening Pasta from Better With Veggies which I think will be my lunch tomorrow!

A good start to the challenge I think! Next week is Blueberries and I’m going to try and come up with my own recipe. Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Meatless Mondays from A-Z: Round 2 (Avocado)

  1. Oh I just made a version of Kait’s avocados too! Mine actually got softer after baking (which I quite liked) and they changed to a slightly bitter but lovely burnt-buttery flavour. I loved it! I also just joined the MMAZ challenge and I think it’s going to be a lot of fun. I’m sure we’ll run into each other again!

Leave a Reply

