March Cookbook Challenge – WeightWatchers Meat Free Meals Review

This month I have been testing recipes from Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero and Weight Watchers Meat Free Meals. Here I will be reviewing Weight Watchers Meat Free Meals!


This is a mini book that I picked up when there was a buy one get one free offer in Sainsbury’s. Although I’m not interested in losing weight (in fact I’m actually trying to put it on!), the photos drew me in!

Introduction

This book is aimed at both vegetarians and meat eaters and is a compilation of recipes from the best of Weight Watchers cookbooks. The introduction claims that “there is something for all occasions” which makes me hopeful that there will be simple everyday recipes as well as something a bit more special.

There are some handy tips in the introduction on storing leftovers and freezing them. Very handy for people who are cooking for one like me!

There is also a checklist of some of the main ingredients used in the book which is extremely useful.

I was expecting some more tips about losing weight as this is a Weight Watchers book. Although I wouldn’t have been very interested in them, the people who this book is aimed at would probably like some more information!

Soups and Salads


I tried two recipes from this section: Courgette & Potato Soup and Carrot & Sunflower Seed Salad (pictured above). The good thing about the soup recipes in this book is that they only make one or two servings. Usually when I make soup I end up with a lot of leftovers! The recipes are easy to follow and use common ingredients. This is a great chapter for lunches! The Roasted Red Pepper soup sounds nice and I also want to try the Fiesta Bean Salad.

Light Bites

I had two recipes bookmarked in this section but sadly never got around to either of them. The first was the Rice and Vegetable Pot which I will be making for lunch at some point. The second was the Spiced Lentil Dip With Crudites. Unfortunately a lot of the recipes in this section included bread and/or cheese so it wasn’t very suitable for me. However if you’re a vegetarian who can eat gluten it’s very good!

Speedy Suppers


The only recipe I tried from this section is the Mexican Stir Fry. It definitely fit it’s description as it came together in less than 20 minutes! This section is aimed at people who need a quick but tasty meal when they come home from work. It has some really nice looking recipes in it such as Sweet & Sour Tofu & Vegetables and Goulash. I think it’s perfect food for families!

Family Favourites

I actually can’t believe I didn’t try anything from this chapter! It’s a fabulous chapter full of old favourites that have been redesigned. The Vegetarian Shepherds Pie looks particularly good and I had bookmarked the Lentil Bolognese!

Curries, Casseroles and Stews


From this chapter I made the Aubergine Madras and the Pumpkin Stew. I love this kind of food so this chapter was brilliant. At some point I’ll get around to trying the Lentil Curry with Crispy Onions!

Entertaining


My favourite recipe from the book came from this section! This is the Paella with Roasted Vegetables which is the meal that introduced me to smoked paprika (a dangerous thing!). A brilliant chapter full of recipes to impress! The Roast Vegetable Pilaf was calling me next.

General Comments

This is a good book full of healthy and nutritious recipes that don’t lack in flavour! It’s a good addition to your library for the speedy and easy recipes that can be thrown together with few ingredients. The photos are beautiful too, a great addition to such a small book. My only criticism? No desserts!

Previous WW Meat-Free Meals Posts

First Update – Carrot & Sunflower Seed Salad, Aubergine Madras and Paella with Roasted Vegetables

Second Update – Courgette Potato Soup and Mexican Stir Fry

Veganomicon Review

One thought on “March Cookbook Challenge – WeightWatchers Meat Free Meals Review

  1. Pingback: May Cookbook Challenge – The Books! | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

