Monthly Cookbook Challenge – Final Update!

This is the final update in my March Cookbook Challenge. This month I have been cooking as many recipes as possible from Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero and Weight Watchers Meat Free Meals. Later this week I will do full reviews from both books but for now here’s the food!

Veganomicon



Throughout all of my recipe testing I hadn’t yet tried a recipe based on tofu! Veganomicon has a whole section on tofu including tangerine tofu, curried tofu and baked BBQ tofu! I chose the Marinated Italian Tofu as I already had the ingredients in my cupboard. The authors claim that this is a simple recipe that goes with just about everything. The marinade is made up of balsamic vinegar, liquid smoke, lemon, garlic, basil, marjoram and thyme. These are all basic store cupboard ingredients which makes this recipe a good everyday choice. There are two options for cooking the tofu – grilling or baking. I chose baked because I love the chewy texture of baked tofu and I don’t have a grill pan! The recipe was easy to follow and the tofu was delicious. I served it with a spinach, olive and pepper salad, corn on the cob and a dollop of sundried tomato hummus.


How beautifully unhealthy does that look? It is gluten free pasta with peppers, leeks and spinach topped with Veganomicon’s Cheezy Sauce. The flavourings for this sauce are mainly garlic, mustard, lemon juice and nutritional yeast. It makes a lovely thick and flavoursome sauce that does taste very cheesy. It also makes a change for a cheese style sauce recipe to not use soya mik! Again the recipe was simple and easy to follow. It is suggested that this sauce be used for nachos, dipping vegetables in or pasta. I’m thinking it would make a good cauliflower cheese!


For my last day of the challenge I made a recipe which was one of the first I bookmarked to try. Apparantly the Portobello Salad with Spicy Mustard Dressing is a staple in Isa’s house and I can see why. The Roasted Portobellos have their own recioe in the Mix and Match section of the book. They are marinated in a balsamic vinegar dressing before being baked for around 40 minutes. I used two mushroom caps and was going to save one for another salad the next day but they were so lovely I ended up eating them both! The salad is suggested to include mixed greens, avocado, red onion and chickpeas but I didn’t have any avocado or red onion. I used iceberg lettuce, tomato, spring onions and chickpeas. The spicy dressing was lovely though. It was made up of mustard, red wine vinegar and maple syrup. I’ll definitely be making these meaty mushrooms again!

Weight Watchers Meat Free Meals



With the amount of soup I eat it is surprising that I’ve not tried many recipes from these two books. Yesterday I made the Courgette and Potato Soup which I thought would be a nice light spring soup. It wasn’t light really; it had a deep flavour (probably because of the soy sauce) and was more of a wintery soup. It was really lovely though and a plus point for this recipe is that it only makes enough for two bowls rather than the huge amounts that most recipes make!

This is Mexican Stir Fry which is under the “Speedy Suppers” section of the book. This stir fry contains peppers, tomatoes and courgettes along with cumin seeds and cayenne pepper. The serving suggestion is in wraps in a sort of fahita style. I think it would go perfectly like that but for a gluten free alternative I just served it with some left over pasta from the day before. It was really warming and spicy and definitely a make again recipe. It was the perfect food to make quickly when I came home from work too.

So that’s it! That is the last update from my March Cookbook Challenge. Keep an eye out later this week for a review of both cookbooks and an announcement of my new challenge!

Leave a Reply

