Veganomicon Review Update 2 (Monthly Cookbook Challenge)

March is the first month of my cookbook challenge! Every month I will be selecting two cookbooks and my challenge is to make as many recipes as possible from those books and then to review them at the end of the month.

                                             516E-qR4xRL._SL500_AA300_images (6)

This month I’m reviewing Weight Watchers Meat Free Meals and Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.

This is my second update in the series and contains recipes from Veganomicon.

Mediterranean Olive Oil and Lemon Vinaigrette

IMAG0951

This was a quick and simple salad dressing made from oil, lemon juice, garlic and dried herbs. I never think to make my own salad dressings and usually just go for mayonnaise or hummus but this made a lovely change! As far as recipes go this is one that couldn’t really go wrong but I was still impressed. I had it with a rice, tomato, pepper and corn salad.


IMAG0968

Chickpea Quinoa Pilaf

IMAG0973

This was in the grains section of Veganomicon and is suggested as a side. I can’t imagine such a protein packed food as a side dish though so I had it over salad. It was an extremely easy recipe to follow and was all store cupboard ingredients. I found it a bit plain though even with the spices and preferred it much more with a big dollop of hummus on top. I don’t think I’ll make this again but it was a nice change.

Broccoli Polenta

IMAG1044

This is one of my favourites so far! I’ve had a bag of polenta in the cupboard for a while now and not done much with it. With the huge amount of broccoli delivered in our veg box I was ready to try and do something with my polenta! This recipe gives three different molding methods and two cooking methods so there is a method for everyone. I chose to use a square pan to mold the polenta and I chose panfry as the cooking method because I wanted them to be crispy.

The recipe was easy to follow although it didn’t need boiling as long as the book said as the mixture soon turned thick and would have burnt. I also didn’t put it in the fridge because it was too hot but it set fine left on the counter. The trick to frying these squares was to leave them to cook for a few minutes before disturbing them so they don’t turn into mush!

I served my squares with salad and they were filling and lovely. I’m imagining different varieties now, I think they’d be wonderful with sun dried tomatoes in!

Lentils and Rice with Caramelized Onions

IMAG1046

I have to admit it was the onions that drew me to this dish! The caramelised onions were heavenly and I can imagine adding them to all sorts of dishes.

The lentils and rice itself sounded good in the book with cinnamon, allspice and cumin but I found it a bit bland and ended up adding vegan worcester sauce, tamari and a mushroom stock cube. The amount of water needed was also a lot more than recommended in the book which may have had an effect on how bland it tasted. I might make something similar to this again but it definitely needed my additions. I even fed this to my mum yesterday and she really liked it but agreed it would have been bland.

So that’s it for my veganomicon update. Keep an eye out later in the week for an update on Weight Watchers Meat Free Meals!

Leave a Reply

