My Food Week (11th – 24th March)

I actually thought that my food post would be longer this week as I didn’t do one when I was AWOL last Sunday but it turns out I didn’t do a great job of recording food that week either! Any foods here that are Veganomicon or Weight Watchers recipes will be described in greater detail in my Veganomicon/Weight Watchers challenge update later this week.

Breakfasts

IMAG0952

At the start of the fortnight it seemed like spring had truly arrived and I was craving cold and creamy breakfasts! This is a blueberry chia pudding with banana and hazelnuts. Creamy and nutritious!

IMAG0972

But then the weather turned cold! Luckily blueberries make an excellent addition to porridge. I love putting blueberries in porridge and letting them go all oozy! This is blueberry and maple syrup porridge made with buckwheat and rice flakes.

IMAG1042

My second porridge of the week had a more tropical theme. This contains dried mango, coconut flakes and dried pinapple and is topped with kiwi. Surprisingly good!

Lunches

IMAG0968

There was a lot of recipe testing from veganomicon this week. Firstly I made the Mediterranean Olive Oil and Lemon Vinaigrette. I thought it would go well on a rice salad and took it to work with me. This salad contains cherry tomatoes, mixed greens, ramiro pepper, sunflower seeds, sweetcorn and rice. It made a lovely springtime lunch!

IMAG0973

This chickpea and quinoa pilaf was another recipe from Veganomicon and made a filling lunch with mixed greens and tomatoes and topped with a dollop of hummus,

IMAG1034

I already mentioned this lunch in the Merchant Gourmet puy lentils with mushrooms and thyme product review. Check the post out here. It was a protein packed lunch of quinoa, half a sachet of lentils and some carrot and kohl rabi salad.

IMAG1044

Another Veganomicon recipe! Today I made a huge supply of broccoli polenta squares to have with lunch all week. Here’s two of them with a salad of mixed greens, radishes, tomatoes, sun dried tomatos and grated carrot.

Teas

IMAG1035

This odd mixture of foods contains a veganomicon recipe and a product review! At the top you can see Cornmeal Masala Roasted Brussels Sprouts from Veganomicon. I served them with roasted potatoes, a carrot and kohl rabi salad and some more Merchant Gourmet Puy Lentils from my review here.

IMAG0975

This recipe came from my Weight Watchers Meat Free Meals book. It’s a lovely warming pumpkin stew and I served it with flat beans and peas.

IMAG0980

This Mushroom Stroganoff was made using the recipe from Vegan Good. It has mushrooms, peas and kale in it and is delicious and creamy. I’ll definitely be making it again!

IMAG0982

A couple more pinterest recipes here. Potato, Kale and White Bean Hash I found on Beard and Bonnet and I can’t explain how good it is in words! I was worried the beans wouldn’t cook well enough and that it would be bland but it was actually one of the most amazing comfort foods I’ve eaten! I served it with Balsamic Roasted Cauliflower from the Gluten Free Vegan. Cauliflower has never been one of my favourites but this recipe gave it a whole new flavour.

IMAG1039

Leftovers from the freezer! This is mushroom and lentil shepherds pie from weeks and weeks ago. I served it with some plain boiled vegetables (potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower and carrot) and made a quick gravy using chickpea flour, oil, vegetable stock and rosemary. Perfect for a snowy day.

IMAG1046

Today’s dinner was shared with my mum! I made us Lentils and Rice with Caramelized Onions from Veganomicon. It was lovely but I did make some minor changes to the recipe. Find out more in my update post later this week!

Snacks

IMAG0976I was overjoyed to find some peaches in the reduced section last week. Here is a speedy fruit salad made with peaches, apples, coconut flakes and dried mango and coconut. Very summery!

That’s it for this week! I promise I’ll be back to normal with my posts from next week.

What have you guys been eating this week?

Leave a Reply

