Monthly Cookbook Challenge (March) – Veganomicon Samosa Stuffed Baked Potatoes

As I own so many cookbooks I’ve decided to choose two books every month and cook as many recipes I can from both. This will hopefully mean I get more use out of them and try some new foods!

This month I’ve decided to focus on recipes from Veganomicon and Weight Watchers Meat Free Meals.

Veganomicon

images (6)This is pretty much the vegan bible in my opinion! It is a huge thick book and even though I’m gluten free there are lots of tempting recipes to try. I got this book for Christmas a couple of years ago and have so far only used it a handful of times. I’m looking forward to trying some more recipes from it.

Meat Free Meals

516E-qR4xRL._SL500_AA300_

Although this is a Weight Watchers book it is full of glossy photos that tempted me to buy it. I got it on offer from Sainsbury’s along with the Soups and Salads book from the same range. Again I’ve only tried a couple of recipes from it but there are plenty I want to try! It’s a vegetarian cookbook but as it is aimed at people who are trying to lose weight, dairy products are not used much. This makes it good for vegans too!

Getting Started!

I started my cookbook challenge yesterday by making Samosa Stuffed Baked Potatoes from page 60 of Veganomicon.

IMAG0913

This recipe is listed in the Snacks, Appetizers, Little Meals and Spreads section of the book but I found it substantial enough to have for tea with a side salad. The potatoes were crispy and perfect with just the right amount of spice. The recipe was easy to follow as well. The only thing I would have liked is a photo of the finished dish in the book. This isn’t essential though as it is a simple recipe!

Check back for further recipes from these two books! At the end of the month I will review the two cookbooks.

Leave a Reply

