My Food Week (18th-24th February 2013)

I’ve been making food this week that I’ve been eating for multiple days in a row so I apologise for the lack of photos!

Breakfasts

IMAG0842

This week I discovered some porridge that I can eat! I know there has been a lot of debate amongst people who are avoiding gluten as to whether oats can be gluten free or not. Unfortunately oats always make me ill so I thought I was never going to be able to eat porridge again. I found a porridge mix in Sainsbury’s made with rice and buckwheat flakes and have been eating it all week with added blueberries and almond milk! It tastes just like normal porridge! You can find it  here.

Lunches

IMAG0843What do you do when you fancy some kind of stir fry, don’t have many vegetables in the kitchen but find a bag of potatoes? Make potato and vegetable hash! I cubed two potatoes and boiled them before adding them to a wok with spinach, onion, peppers, mushrooms and some garlic. Yummy and stodgy comfort food served with baked beans and ketchup.

IMAG0874I saw a soup recipe online last week which was based around a tin of chopped tomatoes, a tin of beans, some vegetables and some Linda McCartney sausages. I loved the sound of it but sadly Linda McCartney sausages are full of gluten so I dismissed the idea. Then I got hold of some Dragonfly Soysages and decided to recreate the recipe. I made a soup using tinned tomatoes, red kidney beans, carrots, green beans and celery and topped it with chopped sausages. Great for a cold day!

Tea

IMAG0844A quick and easy Pad Thai style noodle dish using a peanut butter sauce. I’ve never had Pad Thai before so I have no idea if this resembles it at all. I stir fried broccoli, red cabbage, mushrooms and red peppers then added some gluten free rice noodles and a spicy peanut sauce. It was nice but the noodles stuck together a lot and went clumpy.

IMAG0876Large flat mushrooms are just desperate to be stuffed aren’t they? I topped this one with a smoked tofu scramble and served it with salad and sweetcorn.

IMAG0877A quick and simple pasta sauce. I fried some leeks, mushrooms and red pepper then added chopped tomatoes and some cubes of smoked tofu. That on the side is kohl rabi and carrot coleslaw (good stuff!).

IMAG0887

IMAG0886Before I went for my walk in the pine woods today I decided to use the slow cooker to make a warm tea for when I got home. I made a chilli bean soup with onions, leeks, mushrooms, sweetcorn and red kidney beans which I topped with avocado chunks (to take some of the heat off!). I also made some cornbread from a recipe in Gluten-Free Vegan Comfort Food by Susan O’brien. This book is amazing by the way, you should all go and read it!

Snacks

This week I’ve been eating rice cakes with hummus and sliced tomato on. My tomato addiction seems to be back! I’ve also been enjoying chilli and lime pistachios from my Graze box (get a free box using my code BKX8LVV).

Another snack worth mentioning is this one:

IMAG0872Yes I’ve found a chocolate mug cake that is gluten free and vegan! The recipe is here.

What have you been eating this week?

One thought on “My Food Week (18th-24th February 2013)

Leave a Reply

