Basil Scrambled Tofu with Walnuts, Sundried Tomatoes and Mushrooms

scrambled tofu (Tues)

Now I know there are hundreds of scrambled tofu recipes out there but I thought I’d show you how I do it. I tried scrambled tofu when I first went vegan and absolutely hated it. It was a simple recipe – silken tofu, onion and paprika. I swear it was vile. Needless to say it took me a long time to approach this dish again but now it’s my favourite comfort food.

There are a couple of tricks to scrambled tofu.

  1. Don’t expect scrambled egg – tofu is not egg. It sounds obvious but it’s a mistake most people make. Look at scrambled tofu as a completely new concept and you’ll love it.
  2. Don’t skimp on the flavourings – tofu is bland by nature. This is what makes it such a versatile and amazing ingredient. I add all sorts of flavourings and herbs to my tofu and I add them in large quantities.
  3. Add vegetables – the best types of scrambled tofu are full of a variety of vegetables. This makes it a more interesting (and nutritional) meal and means you can adapt the recipe to whatever you have in your fridge.

There is much debate over what type of tofu to use in your scramble. For a while I was a firm tofu fan but I’ve recently started using Mori-Nu Firm Silken tofu which I definitely prefer. Silken tofu gives you more of a soft scramble and also absorbs flavours better whereas firm tofu is a drier scramble (but still nice!).

On to today’s recipe:

Basil Scrambled Tofu with Walnuts, Sundried Tomatoes and Mushrooms (serves 1)

Ingredients

  • half a packet of Mori-Nu Firm Silken Tofu
  • 2 mushrooms
  • 1/4 of a head of broccoli
  • 1/2 a shallot
  • handful of chopped walnuts
  • 4-5 sundried tomatoes (chopped)
  • olive oil spray
  • tamari sauce
  • dried basil

Method

  1. spray your frying pan with oil and slightly fry the vegetables
  2. add your tofu, scrambling it with your fingers as it enters the pan
  3. add your basil (I’ve not used any measurements as I just chuck it in the pan! It’s totally up to you how much you’d like to use but I’d say less is not more in this case)
  4. add tamari (again it’s up to you)
  5. keep stirring for a few minutes until all of the ingredients are cooked through
  6. add a handful of chopped walnuts and some chopped sundried tomatoes
  7. cook for a couple more minutes and then serve

I had this served with baked beans for a filling lunch but it’s also a favourite at breakfast. It would go well over toast and I often have it over a jacket potato so it’s very versatile!

Feel free to swap the vegetables for whatever you have and experiment with other flavourings. I love garlic and nutritional yeast but go with whatever makes you happy!

How do you like your tofu scramble?

5 thoughts on “Basil Scrambled Tofu with Walnuts, Sundried Tomatoes and Mushrooms

  1. Pingback: My Food Week (28th January – 3rd February) | Writing Beckles

  2. This looks absolutely delicious, I might have to try it. One of the things I like most about tofu is how it takes on the flavor of whatever you cook it with – it makes my kids quite receptive to eating it.

  3. Pingback: Vegan MoFo #24 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (The Vegg) | Vegan Beckles

  4. Pingback: Vegan MoFo #25 – A-Z of Gluten Free Veganism (Walnuts) | Vegan Beckles

Leave a Reply

