Mushroom and Chickpea Stew

Tonight I decided I wanted roasted vegetables and cabbage for tea. I then spent ages trying to figure out how to get some protein into the meal. I found a tin of chickpeas in my cupboard and just had to come up with some way of cooking them! I’ve never really enjoyed chickpeas before but this meal was a definite success.

Image

Mushrooms and Chickpeas

Ingredients

1 can of chickpeas

1 leek

a bunch of mushrooms (how ever many you want… I didn’t count them!)

1 mushroom stock cube (I used Kallo brand)

1 bouquet garni

Method

  1. Add a bit of oil to the pan and fry the leek and mushrooms
  2. Add the chickpeas
  3. Add enough water to cover the vegetables
  4. Add the stock cube and herbs
  5. Simmer for 20 minutes or until the chickpeas are soft

I roasted beetroot, carrot and potato and served it all with some boiled savoy cabbage. This is the first meal I’ve eaten every scrap of in ages. It’s total winter comfort food and thankfully I’ve got some left for tomorrow!

The wholefoods diet is going well!

Leave a Reply

